THE SELECTION by Kiera Cass Book Review

“Thirty-five girls. One crown. The competition of a lifetime.”

HELLO, everybody! I am going to be doing a book review on The Selection
by Kiera Cass which I read (the whole series) in three-four days!

WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SOME SPOILERS. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK!

The Selection Cover

For those who do not know, read or have not heard of this book, The Selection is set a hundred years into the future, in the country of Illea (the former United States). And instead of the President, the King and Queen with their Prince son rule the country. Everyone is divided into different groups or castes, and their jobs or status in life are determined by it.
So royalty. That would mean princes and princesses = just another mushy and girly romance book, right?

WRONG. It is actually a bit more than that.

The story focuses on and is in America Singer’s perspective. Girls between the ages of 16 and 20 are chosen through a selection process to marry Prince Maxon Schreave, who’s coming of age. The Selected are staying at the royal palace and are showcased on a TV program. The Selection is held so princes can marry women who can keep up with running the country alongside him. Despite loving another boy outside her caste, America Singer enters the competition and is selected to be one of the participants. She soon discovers that Prince Maxon isn’t unlikable and snotty, as she assumed him to be, but rather an honorable young man with good intentions. It’s sort of like The Bachelor mixed up with The Hunger Games, only with less blood and violence. he he

melting and screaming and all the feels right now

melting and all the feels right now

To be honest, I was a bit skeptical at first because I thought just that. I nearly didn’t want to read it, but I am very glad I did! I am happy I listened to everyone who read it and said good things about it, because I loved it so much! Yes, it was a bit girly in some parts (that is obvious and perfectly normal), but it is actually better than I thought!

So much better!

There were things that could have used a little bit more information though. Like more on the Southern Rebels, I really want to understand more of them. Also, I was kind of annoyed with America for being indecisive between Maxon and Aspen. Like, come on. Pick! He’s the one in front of you calling you ‘my dear’!

my heart hurts you're beautiful

my heart hurts you’re beautiful

Also, I was sad at certain deaths at the end. But it was overall a great book! I recommend it to anyone who likes dystopian, romance novels!

me when i was reading the whole thing

me when i got to the second and third book

The Elite and The One (sequel and conclusion novel {America’s perspective}, respectively) are just as great! There are two more novels in the Selection series. One is The Heir (the fifth is yet to be named), which focuses on someone related to certain people in the first three books ;’)

Max Irons. Yep. Definitely, perfect as Maxon.

Oh, Prince Maxon. Where can I find myself a Maxon Schreave?

(I have too many fictional boyfriends lol)

I would recommend this series and any of Kiera Cass’s works to anyone!

I give it:
five-stars 

BECAUSE IT WAS FREAKING AMAZING

13958636701376394905divider line flowers roses pink bouquet-hi

If you liked this, check out my other reviews or share them with the others too!

Remember to make your everyday worth it, pray and don’t forget to..
READ, LOVE, and LAUGH!

God bless everybody! 🙂

Leave a comment